Post by blueangel0679 on May 8, 2006 10:32:33 GMT -4
ok what is the deal with this? Suposedly it is to eliminate collisions with the first baseman and the runner. this is just silly. there are going to be collisions anyway, seeing as the second rubber base only adds about 8 inches. It seems as if this is just causing confusion....any thoughts?
We've gone back and forth on this issue. IF the first baseman knows what they are doing then the extra base doesnt really matter. As a lot of them dont lean out of the baseline when catching the ball, the extra 8 inches does help keep them out of the baserunners path. Again this is only if they know that the inner base is for them, and that they shouldnt be on the outer base.
Drina took out SLYE's firstbaseman in our game, she was out, but it was a good hit.
It's also not just about leaning - a lot of times the first baseman's foot completely covers the base, so this gives the runner somthing to step on as they try and beat out a throw.
This is exactly the point of it. It's a runner's option to avoid a collision and/or give them more space to run past 1st. The runner can use any base, but the fielder can only use the inner base.
As per a recent captain's discussion, I'll be sending out this clarification in next week's newsletter email... but this week you still should have heard something about it from either your captain or ref. We're leaving the dual base in place for the rest of this season, and then captains/board will vote whether to keep it or drop it next time. Response thus far has been very mixed (50/50), with the hope that as more people learn how it's supposed to be used, it'll get better.
As first basewoman this week, I dont think that the girl that ran me over knew that she could use the outside base!!
I didnt mind falling on my ass tho-as long as she was out!
Watch out for those Flamer girls! YEE-HAW!!
AIM FOR THE HEAD!!
[glow=red,2,300][shadow=red,left,300]AIM FOR THE HEAD!!![/shadow][/glow]This message brought to you by the Letters C, A, P, and S!! "Seriously, I know I'm 'replying-to-all' also, but that's cause I'm an ass." --MA
Common knowledge should lead to an understanding that the outside base is for the runner, the inside base is for the first baseperson trying to make the out. If the runner chooses the inside base, it is at their own risk. What people really need to understand though is that when you overrun first base, if you turn toward the field, you are now in play and can be tagged out, despite being able to overrun the base. YOU HAVE TO TURN TO THE RIGHT OR YOU BECOME FAIR GAME!
Do we really need to get that strict about which way to turn when overrunning first base? it's just kickball, and i would bet most of the people that play don't know about that rule from baseball.
Noone has to be strict about it, but for those playing first base they still have the right to tag the player out and a lot of people don't know about that rule and they argue about it, but they're still out. It was just something I was throwing out there.
Hey its a legitimate concern - people need to know not to turn on to the field when they overrun first base, otherwise they are fair game to get pegged.
Besides, if folks do not turn to the right and run off the field of play, some people just keep going and head to second. Sort of wanting it both ways - to be safe and a free head start to the next bag?
Man Law: Under no circumstances shall a Wife Beater be worn outside in public.
I'm a fan of the obscure rules that most people don't know and I can take advantage of. I was always the person running immediately if I swung on strike three with the hopes that the catcher dropped the ball...
I still think we should be awarded a base if the pitcher balks...j/k...it's kickball, not baseball, I got it.
Usually you can tell if they have any intention of heading for the next base, if they do an about face and turn inside I wouldnt call it as a ref. Take a step or two in the direction of second and its your own fault. To be on the safe side I'm going to mention it to my team and probably do the same next time I ref.
Like scotty said, you can tell if someone is trying to run to second or not. If someone is making a move towards second base, then by all means tag them out. But I think it would be pretty lame to call someone out, like a girl who didn't know that rule, when they are just trying to turn around to get back to first. The point is to have fun playing, not to get technical and call people out on little rules that everyone might not know. I'm not going to call anyone out who is just trying to walk back to first and they happened to turn the wrong way.