that's the rule. I'd called it a strike (or even a foul). I saw one of them happen and the kicker totally missed the ball with their kick but the planted foot hit it.
That's exactly what happened...
So there seems to be a loop-hole in the rules...or maybe just something to clear up more. Nonetheless, I just thought it was funny. Had either of the 2 times actually changed the game i.e. runs scored, then it'd be a big deal.
My Wed division has some people that pitch really hard, and sometime you cant get out of the way of the ball in time, the refs there call that if it hits your leg the ball is still either a foul or in play, even if you are attempting to get out of the way. I'm not a huge fan of the rule, but they are consistant with it and its less pressure on the ref to determine when an attempt is made and when it isnt.