Um, that is exactly what I meant by deadball, aka, deflects of runner (they are out) ball goes out of bounds (is considered dead) all runners advance one...except for the person it deflected off....they are still out and do not collect 200 pesos (that would buy approximately 9 tacos at Chipotle, in case anybody was wondering)
Sadly in the incident that I'm talking about the runner made it to 3rd base before the ball hit them...then deflected off of them...no out, runner crosses the plate and collects 200 pesos or its taco equal.
Scott, I guess technically if the runner is on base when the ball hits them you could argue that it should be a dead ball according to that one interference rule. Conflicts a bit with the overthrow rule, so I really don't know. Personally I think the overthrow deflection would be more appropriate since it would have definitely applied if the throw missed completely (and i think the spirit of the interference one is if the runner is just standing there and it hits them).
According to the rules...in Scott's scenario (as I understand it)...the guy was running to the base, got on base before the ball hit them, right (He wasn't just standing there, and got hit with the ball randomnly)? In this case, a play was being made towards the base or runner, it DEFLECTED off the runner and went far, far away. It's an overthrow. He is awarded one base. Now, this is a restriction ONLY. If the fielder's want to try and get the ball and get him out, that's their perogative, but play will continue.
As for Tacos case...you cannot mis-catch the ball and then kick it on to constitution ave, so the runners only get one base. Now, if your SS and you try to kick it to 3rd base to get a runner out (whether it hits them or its a force out), you shank it, and THEN it goes onto constitution ave...its an overthrow.